Problem Solved due to Card Text

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by Jue Viole Grace on Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:04 am



Problem Solved due to Card Text



This is going to be my first article, so spare me and don't burn me with hellfire...

Here, see, I even have my Flame Shield on.




Okay, jokes aside, let's start the wall-o'-text.



New card effect template



As you may know, every card since the first Structure Deck of Yuma, YS11, all cards follow a new scheme of card text.
Let's look a simple card like Dimensional Prison. You all know it. If not, here's a link for you: Click here.
Its PSCT is as follows:
When an opponent's monster declares an attack: Target that monster; banish that target.

Now, however, if we look at the old card text, which says...

Dimensional Prison wrote:Activate only when your opponent declares an attack. Remove from play the attacking monster.

What changed?

Everything BEFORE the first colon [ : ] in a sentence are activation requirements. These cannot be ignored.
For example, you cannot use the effect of Card Trooper during your opponent's turn. Same goes for Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon or Dimensional Alchemist.

Furthermore, all parts AFTER the colon [ : ] but BEFORE the FIRST semi-colon [ ; ] are activation costs or things that happen at activation. You must pay these costs or most perform all necessary actions at activation before the actual card effect happens and they do not count as part of the card effect.

As you can already guess, continuing from above paragraph, everything AFTER the FIRST semi-colon [ ; ] happens at resolution of an effect; this can never be chained to. The only possible thing that could here would be continuous effects applying.


If we now take the card I used as an example, we can see that the card (Dimensional Prison) exactly shows that.


When an opponent's monster declares an attack:


This part is the activation requirement(s). As we see, an opponent's monster has to declare an attack for us to use D. Prison.



Target that monster;
This part is the cost, or, in this case, things that happen at activation. You select the attacking monster, you directly declare it as your target. Now is the time for you or your opponent to activate card effects or cards. After this point, after you targeted the monster and after no other cards or effects were activated in the chain, the chain resolves.


banish that target.


This is the resolution if the card effect. Here, the monster will be banished. As I already mentioned, these effects cannot be chained to.



Old card text phrases changes



Next, a short look at old card text that has been changed to something exciting and super exciting.



Examples


Remove from play -> Banish

During a battle between this Attack Position card and a monster in Defense Position, if the ATK of this card is higher than the DEF of the attacked monster, inflict the difference to your opponent as Battle Damage -> Piercing Damage (thanks God for this necessary change)

If there are any questions regarding this article, feel free to post or drop a PM.


Last edited by Irate on Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:45 pm; edited 1 time in total


Bubbles: maybe ill learn u a few thing

Admin of the Year
Administrator of the Year 2012

Jue Viole Grace

Obelisk Blue Duelist
Obelisk Blue Duelist

Posts : 6406
Pro Decklists : 1
Warnings : No warnings

http://www.duelacademy.net

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by girlchan on Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:21 am

I was wondering if anybody else even remembered Flame Champion (one of my favorite old school cards).

Anyway, nice job on addressing this. I'm going to assume that it's more in-depth than the wiki article, and that's it's going to help people moreso than the wiki article.


Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
Through passion, I gain strength.
Through strength, I gain power.
Through power, I gain victory.
Through victory, my chains are broken.
The Force shall free me.


girlchan

Obelisk Blue Duelist
Obelisk Blue Duelist

Posts : 857
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by Jue Viole Grace on Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:25 am

It's generally just the BRA article; overworked.

Thanks for feedback :3


Bubbles: maybe ill learn u a few thing

Admin of the Year
Administrator of the Year 2012

Jue Viole Grace

Obelisk Blue Duelist
Obelisk Blue Duelist

Posts : 6406
Pro Decklists : 1
Warnings : No warnings

http://www.duelacademy.net

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by Potus Mat on Fri Aug 17, 2012 6:58 am

@GirlChan wrote:I was wondering if anybody else even remembered Flame Champion (one of my favorite old school cards).
Flame Champion has nothing to my beloved Mister Volcano.


אֶהְיֶה אֲשֶׁר אֶהְיֶה

Potus Mat

Ra Yellow Duelist
Ra Yellow Duelist

Posts : 1840
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by girlchan on Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:23 am

@Potus Mat wrote:
@GirlChan wrote:I was wondering if anybody else even remembered Flame Champion (one of my favorite old school cards).
Flame Champion has nothing to my beloved Mister Volcano.
Neither of which have anything on Twin-Headed Fire Dragon.


Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
Through passion, I gain strength.
Through strength, I gain power.
Through power, I gain victory.
Through victory, my chains are broken.
The Force shall free me.


girlchan

Obelisk Blue Duelist
Obelisk Blue Duelist

Posts : 857
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by PabelFTW on Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:03 am

Or on my Celtic Guardian because its the most rarest and strongest card, Yugi! The Legendary Celtic Guardian!


"Heroes have infinite possibilities!" - quote by Jaden Yuki
See My Dorm Room if ya want to talk or duel!

http://www.duelacademy.net/t10300-pabel-s-dorm-room

Here, for those of you who want to play HEROs competitively, Here's a guide Fluffytots made. A Great explanation of how to play HEROs competitively.
http://www.duelacademy.net/t20315-fluffy-s-deck-articles-2-elemental-heros

Want to see my progression on my real-life hero deck. see my growth with these sites
http://www.duelacademy.net/t12760-real-life-hero-deck-v3#102927
http://www.duelacademy.net/t12078-real-life-e-hero-deck-v2
http://www.duelacademy.net/t11661-real-life-hero-deck
Other Decks
http://www.duelacademy.net/t14091-kuriboh-deck#115846

PabelFTW

Slifer Red Duelist
Slifer Red Duelist

Posts : 735
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by wh0_ar3_y0u on Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:29 am

Nice one Smile Good job!






" I might actually lose to you, considering how quickly you evolve. But..., that won't be today! " ~ Oikawa Tooru

wh0_ar3_y0u

Obelisk Blue Duelist
Obelisk Blue Duelist

Posts : 183
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by Yillion on Tue May 28, 2013 9:11 am

So for short, everything after the semi-colon is the resolution of everything that is after the colon?

Can't chain so, about D. Prison again, for example, Prison targets, monster to Graveyard so can't chain with Iron Wall?

Gotta catch dem Rulings all :I





Yillion

Slifer Red Duelist
Slifer Red Duelist

Posts : 340
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by L.Lawliet on Tue May 28, 2013 1:44 pm

Conditions are now always followed by a colon ( : ).
Activation text is separated from the card effects by a semicolon ( ; ).
The basic structure is CONDITIONS : ACTIVATION ; RESOLUTION.






L.Lawliet

Obelisk Blue Duelist
Obelisk Blue Duelist

Posts : 347
Pro Decklists : 0
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by Yillion on Tue May 28, 2013 2:39 pm

Thanks. Don't know why I missed that. Much easier now.





Yillion

Slifer Red Duelist
Slifer Red Duelist

Posts : 340
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by Centrik on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:17 pm

@Yillion wrote:So for short, everything after the semi-colon is the resolution of everything that is after the colon?

Can't chain so, about D. Prison again, for example, Prison targets, monster to Graveyard so can't chain with Iron Wall?

Gotta catch dem Rulings all :I
What L said. Also, you can chain Iron Wall when D. Prison activates Oh Shit lolol not when it resolves Oh Shit

You can get more things about that in here: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Dimensional_Prison

Have fun.



JAZZ!

[00:25:09] Skitoritto : You can't spell I don't care without a k.
Best code ever: [07:25:53] NightBot : [spoiler]k,]/spoiler]

Centrik

Obelisk Blue Duelist
Obelisk Blue Duelist

Posts : 9279
Pro Decklists : 0
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by Kairi on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:47 pm

Nice article ^^



Kairi

Obelisk Blue Duelist
Obelisk Blue Duelist

Posts : 1647
Pro Decklists : 1
Warnings : 2 warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by Centrik on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:55 pm

You slowpoke shjt ._.



JAZZ!

[00:25:09] Skitoritto : You can't spell I don't care without a k.
Best code ever: [07:25:53] NightBot : [spoiler]k,]/spoiler]

Centrik

Obelisk Blue Duelist
Obelisk Blue Duelist

Posts : 9279
Pro Decklists : 0
Warnings : No warnings

Back to top Go down

Re: Problem Solved due to Card Text

Post by Sponsored content Today at 4:36 am


Sponsored content



Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum