Latest topics
Rising againYesterday at 5:49 pmHaccodeHello! It’s been a minute!Yesterday at 3:39 pmEfaneSo i remembered ygo existsYesterday at 8:32 amHaou SupremeHi Just Found This PlaceYesterday at 8:24 amHaou SupremeIts Yah boiWed Jul 18, 2018 8:31 pmWondeRyDA's Clash/War TeamWed Jul 18, 2018 8:30 pmWondeRyYea hi im here again apparently.Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pmYAMI MOTO#1[FINISH] Battle Pack Tournament!Sun Jul 08, 2018 4:51 amWondeRyQuestion about a rulingThu Jul 05, 2018 6:17 pmPatrick92Duel Links Tournament #3 HighlanderRulesThu Jul 05, 2018 1:48 pmCutieLucie83
Discord


Share
Go down
avatar
Patrick92
Slifer Red Duelist
Slifer Red Duelist
Posts : 11
Reputation Points : 0

Question about Timing

on Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:58 pm
I'm a beginner and had a question about "timing".

I use a Fortune Lady deck (only play for fun) and was wondering why does Fortune Lady Light miss timing when the effect of Wonder Wand is used, but doesn't miss timing when used with Spellbook of Knowledge. 

Thanks!!
avatar
Wingshine
Slifer Red Duelist
Slifer Red Duelist
Posts : 326
Reputation Points : 2
Lazy Slacker I have a girlfriend Freshman I am 12 and what is this? New hero in town!

Re: Question about Timing

on Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:24 pm
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
don't worry. we all start somewhere.

In regards to Fortune Lady Light's effect, she has to be sent from the field in order to special summon a Fortune Lady from the deck. Note that the card says "When…. …..you can", which means that the effect is optional.

Wonder Wand
This lets you send both the monster and the equip to draw 2. Note the semicolon (;
.:
) in the tekst: this means that the sending is a cost. As the last thing that happened is drawing 2 cards and not the sending of Fortune Lady Light, you won't have her effect, even if it was an effect. 

SB of Knowledge
Similar effect as Wonder Wand, but the most notable change is "and if you do,". This means that both drawing and sending appear to happen simultaniously, and therefore no costs attached to it.
Should you send FLL in this fashion, her effect starts in a new chain.

A bit unrelated, but if the optional "When… ...you can" effects are in SEGOC, and are chosen to resolve last, they'll miss timing as well. But i'm unsure how that works out, so you'll have to ask someone who's surperior to me in rulings about that.




Born to be a gamer. I know some rulings, but that doesn't make me an expert duelist.
Back to top
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum